Queen's College is situated at the foot of the picturesque Stormberg Mountains in the pleasant Eastern Cape town of Komani, formerly known as Queenstown. Established in 1858, it is the oldest school on the Border - a region famous for its fine schools. Close to its excellent "family" schools, Queen's College Boys' Primary, Queenstown Girls' High and Balmoral Girls' Primary, Queen's College offers boys a unique and once in a lifetime opportunity to realise their full potential in a healthy, caring environment in which educational excellence, tradition, loyalty, pride, leadership development, and the highest standards of discipline are emphasized. The overall educational development of the Queenian is achieved within a milieu of progressive thinking that ensures that the College moves with the times and makes the most of technological advances.
Queen's College - the name elicits an almost mystical reverence from generations of past students - perhaps to the bewilderment of those who cannot relate to the experience of having been a 'Queenian'.
Esse Quam Videri - our school motto highlights the cornerstone value of integrity that is tested daily in our safe environment. Integrity is critical to authentic adulthood and is a key character trait for life. Queen's College equips our young men to take the road less travelled; the difficult, yet spiritually rewarding path of integrity.
At Queen’s College we believe that a healthy, active lifestyle promotes a healthy, active mind. This is why we encourage our learners to play at least one summer and one winter sport. For a Public boys’ school, we boast amongst the most comprehensive sporting facilities in the country. We have nine rugby fields, four cricket fields, three hockey fields and a state of the art, floodlit AstroTurf for hockey.
One can only marvel at the immense influence of music and song in human society. If you spend a few days at Queen’s College, you will soon experience the mesmerizing effect of amagwijo. Igwijo is a unique form of musical expression devoid of instrumental accompaniment and rich in emotion. The singing of igwijo is deeply embedded in Xhosa culture and tradition. These melodic chants, sung in unison, are unmistakable and have become an important element of student culture at Queen's College. The unbridled singing of amagwijo at sport fixtures and various school events, bears testament to an inclusive school environment that celebrates South Africa’s diverse cultures.
Queen’s College - a movement that stirs the soul.
OUR RICH HERITAGE
Queen's College traces its origins back to 1858 to "Mr Ham's school" in a sparsely furnished outbuilding in the frontier village of Queenstown. Despite the efforts of respected educated stalwarts like Mr Frederick Beswick who devoted 32 years (1867 to 1899) to laying the educational foundations of the Queen's College of today, the prospects of establishing a really great school in Queenstown looked bleak until 1910. In that year the school, which was moved to its present site in 1897, was given the name Queen's College. At the same time the school badge was designed - featuring a kudu (reflecting the historical municipal seal of Queenstown) and a crown (symbolising Queen Victoria, after whom Queenstown was named). The respected Headmaster, Mr Herbert Wilkinson, who led the school for 25 years, also coined the school motto: Esse Quam Videri (To be rather than to seem).
The school continued to grow in size and stature and under Mr Archibald Parry Davies, who was headmaster from 1930 to 1940. Queen's began to develop a distinctive character and spirit. The school's prowess in the academic, sporting and cultural spheres became known far and wide and it began to attract pupils from all over South Africa and as far afield as Rhodesia (Zimbabwe).
Today, Queen's College still draws pupils from all over Southern Africa. With its extensive modern school, hostel and playing field facilities, its highly motivated professional teaching staff, and its excellent well-rounded educational programme, the College has come a long way since its humble beginnings. Queen's is proud of its heritage and holds onto many cherished traditions. The core of the old stone school buildings (dating back to 1897) was retained when a new purpose-designed modern school complex was built in 1973. Many valuable reminders of the school's debt to the past are housed in the Queen's College Museum in the "Old School", which was itself declared a historical monument in 1980.
All that remains of Mr Ham's original school is the lectern on the stage of the Memorial Hall (the present school hall). It was made out of a yellowwood beam salvaged from the old school outbuilding when it was demolished in 1949.